2018 Governor’s Conference on Energy and Environment Wraps Day One

Energy and Environment Cabinet Secretary Kicked off the 2018 Governor’s Conference on Energy and the Environment with remarks about the future of Kentucky’s energy profile, environmental regulations and continuing to keep Kentucky’s environment and citizens protected.

IMG_3483Governor Matt Bevin was the keynote speaker on the first day of the conference. The governor touted his energy policies, covered cyber security, the changing energy landscape and updating the power grid. He also took questions from the audience which included a discussion on subsidizing alternative energy forms.

David Ross, Environmental Protection Agency Assistant Administrator, Office of Water IMG_3562followed Gov. Bevin.

Ross discussed the Trump Administration’s view on environmental regulations, and what they’ve meant to the environment and economic development.

Ross also participated in the Clean Water Act 404 Panel that closed day one of the conference. Those panelists, including Mike Ricketts of the Army Corps of Engineers, Mike Hardin, Kentucky Department of Fish and Wildlife, Nick Dilks of Ecosystem Investment Partners and Brian Miller of the Northern Kentucky Home Builders Association, spoke about how the Clean Water Act affected their individual agencies.

KET host and producer Renee Shaw moderated the 2018 Legislative Panel which featured Sen. Jared Carpenter, Rep. Jim Gooch, Tom Fitzgerald of the Ky. Resources Council, Kate Shanks of the Ky. Chamber of Commerce and Sec. Snavely.


Always a lively discussion, the panel covered energy subsidies, environmental regulations and bills that could become law in the 2019 Legislative Session.


Day two of the conference kicks off at 8 a.m. on Friday, Oct. 12.

At 8:30 a.m. Steve Winberg of the Dept. of Energy will keynote the morning session, followed by a presentation from Bob Scott of Kentucky’s Divison of Abandoned Mine Lands, who will have a presentation and panel.

At 10:30, An Energy Panel will be moderated by Sec. Snavely and will feature Neil Chatterje, Federal Energy Regulatory Commission, Asim Z. Haque, Ohio Public Utilities Commision, Talina Matthews, Kentucky Public Service Commission and Andrew L. Ott, PJM Interconnection.

Lt. Governor Jenean Hampton will speak at the annual awards ceremony and luncheon to wrap up the conference.