Department for Environmental Protection Announces Top Official Appointments

Tony Hatton Edited
Tony Hatton

Kentucky Department for Environmental Protection Commissioner Tony Hatton today announced the appointments of three top DEP officials.

Sean Alteri has been appointed Deputy Commissioner of the Department, Michael Kroeger has been named Division Director of the Division of Enforcement (DENF), and Amanda Lefevre has been named Division Director of the Division of Compliance Assistance (DCA).

“I am very pleased to make this announcement,” Hatton said. “All these individuals are well qualified, having demonstrated consistent leadership and commitment to the agency’s goals.”

Continue reading “Department for Environmental Protection Announces Top Official Appointments”


Firefighters Return Home after Two Weeks on Deadly Ferguson Fire

Forty-two Kentucky Division of Forestry (KDOF) firefighters dragged their gear off the white school bus that had brought them home, back to the Southern Interagency Fire Cache in London, Ky.

Ferguson Fire 4
Lem Johnson momentarily leans on a shovel while fighting the Ferguson fire last week.


They looked spent, many still wearing the Ferguson fire t-shirts earned by their recent weeks fighting one of the largest wildfires in California history.

The Ferguson fire, a wildfire in the Sierra National Forest and Yosemite National park in California, had pushed the team to their limits. It began Juy 13 and within a day had burned nearly 1,000 acres.A deadly and stubborn fire, it has burned for a month, consuming nearly 100,000 acres and killing two firefighters.

Continue reading “Firefighters Return Home after Two Weeks on Deadly Ferguson Fire”

Oil and Gas Workgroup to Meet August 21

FRANKFORT, Ky. (August 13, 2018) – The OIL and GAS WORKGROUP will meet from 1 p.m. – 4 p.m. on Tuesday, August 21, 2018 in conference room 332 at the Kentucky Energy and Environment Cabinet, 300 Sower Boulevard, Frankfort, Kentucky 40601.

Please arrive early so that you can be checked in.


Continue reading “Oil and Gas Workgroup to Meet August 21”

Division of Compliance Assistance to Offer Free Intro to Grant Writing and Community Revitalization Workshops

Join us for our free, one-day grant writing workshop, which will provide participants with a solid understanding of grant writing tips and tricks that will help make proposals more attractive to funding agencies.

This workshop will highlight environmental and community development grants, but the materials will be applicable to many other types of grant applications from federal government and foundation funding agencies. The last portion of the workshop will highlight the upcoming  U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) Brownfield Grant application, BUILD Act information and any changes in guidelines.

Continue reading “Division of Compliance Assistance to Offer Free Intro to Grant Writing and Community Revitalization Workshops”

Applications for Illegal Dump and Litter Abatement Grants Sought by Division of Waste Management

FRANKFORT, Ky. (Aug. 6, 2018) – The Energy and Environment Cabinet’s (EEC) Division of Waste Management (DWM) is calling for grant applications for two of its signature programs, illegal dump cleanup and litter cleanup along public roads.

“These popular grant programs have played an important role in maintaining the natural beauty of communities across the Commonwealth and in helping improve Kentuckian’s quality of life,” said EEC Secretary Charles Snavely.

Continue reading “Applications for Illegal Dump and Litter Abatement Grants Sought by Division of Waste Management”

Kentucky Firefighters Battle Wildfires in Western U.S.

With parts of the western United States ablaze, the Energy and Environment Cabinet’s  Kentucky Division of Forestry has dispatched aid in the form of firefighters and equipment to five western states.

Kentucky firefighters are fighting fires in Yosemite Park in California. Devestating fires are burning there and in other areas across Colorado, Nevada and Utah. The Goose Creek fire that spans northern Nevada and Utah has scorched 123,000 acres so far, while a fire in Carr, California has burned 132,000 acres.

“They’re right in the areas where fire has been and they’re in a very close proximity to the active fire,” Kentucky Fire Management Chief Brandon Howard told WAVE 3 News in Louisville yesterday.

To see an interactive map of where the fires are in the western states, you can go to the International Association of Fire Chiefs Wildfire Status Dashboard here to see where the fires are, how big they are and what percentage they are currently contained.

Continue reading “Kentucky Firefighters Battle Wildfires in Western U.S.”

Kentucky Waste Tire Work Group Meeting Announced

FRANKFORT, Ky. (July 31, 2018) – The Kentucky Waste Tire Work Group will meet on Tuesday, August 7, 2018, at 1 p.m. in Training Room B at the Kentucky Energy and Environment Cabinet building, 300 Sower Blvd., Frankfort, Ky. 40601.

Agenda items will include updates on Kentucky’s waste tire programs, a presentation on recycling used tires via rubber-modified asphalt technologies, and discussion of old and new group business.

The full agenda is as follows:

Continue reading “Kentucky Waste Tire Work Group Meeting Announced”